Looking For Good Books – Literary Fiction

August 27, 2015 § Leave a comment

I normally read people’s reviews before I picked up any books to read. Sometimes they might go beyond my expectation and sometimes they were not even close. These days, I don’t read much but it doesn’t stop me from looking for exciting books to read. Goodreads.com, for me, is the best website that I use to search for books and read the readers’ reviews. So, after a long hiatus I found a few books which I think might be interesting and enjoyable reads.

  

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel  – “But this book is different. It touches so many points of view from different perspectives, tackling almost all the check points in any of your post-apocalyptic imagination. And I enjoyed every page.” – Bluecrystaldude @ Goodreads

The Ecliptic by Benjamin Wood – “The author explores Knells early life with an absorbing portrait of her study, apprenticeship, first paintings and exhibition. Superbly drawn scenes and conversation pieces are sharp and seductively described. Her love life and emotions brought to life believable and real.” – David (atOMGthatBook) @ Goodreads

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah “Kristin Hannah captures the horror, the hunger, the heart, the biting contrast between humanity and inhumanity with an eloquence that left me breathless and ugly crying. Alongside the atrocities there are moments of great tenderness, love and always hope. This story is one big ‘feel’ and that’s what makes it unforgettable.” – Sheree @ Goodreads

  

Speak by Louisa Hall – Powerfully written in its complexity, and diverse in narrative style, Speak is sheer brilliance in its construction and delivery. Fans of David Mitchell’s ‘Cloud Atlas’, Emily St. John Mandel’s ‘Station Eleven’ and Erin Morgenstern’s ‘The Night Circus’ should seek this one out as a ‘must read’.” – Sharon @ Goodreads

The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood “This book has floored me. I am left totally in awe of Margaret Atwood, but also kind of creeped out because only the strangest of minds would be able to produce ‘The Heart Goes Last’.” – Kelsey Myers @ Goodreads

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr “Gorgeous, magical writing. Doerr uses imagery and metaphor in ways that exceed expectation; he captures beauty and sensation with his words but never goes overboard.” – Thomas @ Goodreads

Advertisements

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Looking For Good Books – Literary Fiction at Coffee & Crackers.

meta

%d bloggers like this: