Book Review: The Sins of the Father by Jeffrey Archer

April 7, 2015 § Leave a comment

Title: The Sins of the Father | Author: Jeffrey Archer
Series: The Clifton Chronicles Book 2 | Genre: Historical Fiction
Format: Paperback | Date Finished: April 4, 2015
Rating: 4 Cups of Coffee

Only days before Britain declares war on Germany, Harry Clifton, hoping to escape the consequences of long-buried family secrets, and forced to accept that his desire to marry Emma Barrington will never be fulfilled, has joined the Merchant Navy.  But his ship is sunk in the Atlantic by a German U-boat, drowning almost the entire crew.  An American cruise liner, the SS Kansas Star, rescues a handful of sailors, among them Harry and the third officer, an American named Tom Bradshaw.  When Bradshaw dies in the night, Harry seizes on the chance to escape his tangled past and assumes his identity. But on landing in America, he quickly learns the mistake he has made, when he discovers what is awaiting Bradshaw in New York.  Without any way of proving his true identity, Harry Clifton is now chained to a past that could be far worse than the one he had hoped to escape. – Goodreads

My Review

I took me two years before picking this second book of The Clifton Chronicles series. What was I doing during that period of time? But I am so glad I started to read the series again because I thoroughly enjoyed the first book Only Time Will Tell, and The Sins of the Father is just exceptionally intriguing. At the beginning I was thinking, “Should I read its predecessor one more time to jog the memory or I just read the second one nonetheless?”. I choose the later option and I am so glad that as I read through the book, all the memory bounce back effortlessly. I am amazed.

Needless to say, Jeffrey Archer is one of the best storyteller of all time. He did an exquisite job with each of his novels. Well, who can make me to finish a book in one day? But he did! From the dockyard of Bristol to the city of New York, from the prisons to the courtrooms, and from the publishing houses to army camps, he brilliantly narrates the books from multiple characters perspectives and I just love it all. Emma’s and Giles’ adventures are among my favorite in this book but Harry’s side of story that keep me at the edge of my sit. Hugo’s and Maisie’s stories in the other hand fit so well making the book a gripping read and I am so happy that their stories come together beautifully in the end, but of course it is a cliffhanger.

I already bought the third installment  and can’t wait to devour it! I know the third one would be much into political thingy but I really want to see Harry get married to Emma and I can’t wait to see who is (are) going to be the next antagonist since Hugo Barrington is now dead (ops! spoiler). For those who want to read a good historical fiction with romance, revenge, secrets and mysteries intertwined, you should start the Clifton Chronicles.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: The Sins of the Father by Jeffrey Archer at Coffee & Crackers.

meta

