Book Review: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

April 6, 2015 § 2 Comments

Title: The Husband’s Secret | Author: Liane Moriarty
Series: Stand Alone | Genre: Drama, Family
Format: Paperback | Date Finished: April 3, 2015
Rating: 4 Cups of Coffee

“Some secrets are meant to stay secret forever.”

Imagine your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret – something so terrible it would destroy not just the life you built together, but the lives of others too. Imagine, then, that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive . Cecilia Fitzpatrick achieved it all – she’s an incredibly successful business woman, a pillar of her small community and a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But that letter is about to change everything, and not just for her: Rachel and Tess barely know Cecilia – or each other – but they too are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s devastating secret

My Review

I really like The Husband’s Secret though it was a little bit too predictable for me. Half way through the book I already know what is coming next and how it will end. But that doesn’t make it a boring read because it is full with emotions and at times you feel like consoling them, making them smile, trying to make peace between them, and sometimes you just feel like punching the hard to make them forget of their egos. In short I am so involved with the story.  A book that can make me shed tears is definitely a good book. Reading in multiple point of views is quite and enjoyable experience for me as usual. I really liked the way author crafts the story, it is straightforward but emotional and gripping. To put together a few characters with their own lives entangled in one story can be tricky but Moriarty did it well.

I like the mysteries and secrets around Cecelia’s family, Rachel’s grieving is just painful even for me, and Tess’s rocky marriage, I don’t know how she fits in the big picture, but I am so involved in her side of story nonetheless. However, I have a secret to tell here. I am not genuinely in love with the three main characters because they’re so impulsive, egocentric, and too emotional. I wish the author can write a prequel for this book but I would love to read it from John-Paul’s, Will’s, and Rob’s POIs because these characters are also affected by the “disasters” happened in the story but Moriarty doesn’t bother to let us know how they really feel, but I understand that this is a women fiction book. All in all, this is a bullet train read that I really enjoyed but still insist for the prequel I suggested (Haha). I recommend this for all Jodi Picoult’s or Diane Chamberlain’s fans out there.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Book Review: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty at Beluncas Books.

meta