Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

February 18, 2015 § Leave a comment

Title: Allegiant | Author: Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent #3 | Genre: Dystopia, YA Fiction
Format: Paperback | Date Finished: February 17, 2015
Rating: 2 Cups of Coffee

“Can I be forgiven for all I’ve done to get here?”

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories. But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love. –Goodreads

My Review

I don’t really enjoy the first book Divergent, but I was totally invested in the second installment, Insurgent. Then, I was so excited for the final book, Allegiant. I went in with hopeful anticipation but reality hit me so hard and I came out feeling..meh, disappointed.

The main reason that frustrate me is because it lacks of adrenaline rushed actions that could put me at the edge of my seat, I really need that! Beatrice is a total bad-ass , I know she is. Tobias also one of my favorite characters in the previous installments but where was him? I mean where was Four that I knew? And I knew that this two is in love, but enough of those kissing, it was too much. Romance is good but I need more actions! or at least a breathtaking conflict between the Allegiant and whoever they were fighting against because that is what the story is all about, right? Another thing that feel so wrong about this book is the confusing interpretation of molecular biology/ human genetics by Roth. I know that this is all fiction but your imagination of genetics is ridiculous. I don’t really know how many times the words genetically damaged and genetically pure words are repeated throughout the whole story I lost count. It was pretty annoying that the Roth just used the words without having concrete justifications of it. Maybe I should use the serum to reset her.

 Despite of all wrong things, I don’t have problem with the ending because I honestly think it was cool. It’s may be not the best ending but it was cool. The dual-narratives approach taken by the Roth also is a brilliant idea because I always enjoyed reading from different points of views. As a whole, Divergent series is cool and if any of you want to read a crappy molecular biology book, Allegiant is for you.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth at Coffee & Crackers.

meta

