Movie Review: The Imitation Game “A Work of Genius”

January 30, 2015 § Leave a comment

Imitation-Game-Poster (1)

Title: The Imitation Game | Director: Morten Tyldum
Writer: Andrew Hodges, Graham Moore
Starring: Benedict Cumberbatch, Keira Knightley, Matthew Goode
Rating: 5 Cups of Coffee

“Are you paying attention..?”

Based on the real life story of legendary cryptanalyst Alan Turing, the film portrays the nail-biting race against time by Turing and his brilliant team of code-breakers at Britain’s top-secret Government Code and Cypher School at Bletchley Park, during the darkest days of World War II – 1MDb

My Review

When I first read about this movie I was like, “Oh, this is for me!”. I really love biographic movies, based on true stories. I watched The King’s Speech, Iron Lady, The Lady and all these movies left such extraordinary impressions on me as an audience. The Imitation Game is a brilliant movie. Well, of course I heard about WWII, Nazis, Winston Churchill, they are all in history books. But, I knew nothing about Alan Turing and Enigma.

I was so immersed in the story of Enigma and Alan Turing. He was brilliant for sure, most of the time looked pathetic, but at times he could be comical as well (I cracked at the scene with the apples and his colleagues, it was just hilarious) and hey, now I know where the computers came from! I loved every part of the movie, the cinematography was brilliantly and beautifully depicted the atmosphere of WWII and  the acting were just outstanding. Benedict Cumberbatch acting was an extraordinaire, Kiera Knightley is great and the boy who played young Alan Turing was surprisingly brilliant. Another thing that I love about this movie is, the director tried to highlight a few sensitive issues during the era like homosexuality which was deemed as criminal offense in Britain during 50’s and the convicts can be sentenced to life imprisonment (I hope they still practice this even now) and gender discrimination portrayed through Joan Clarke character. All in all, this is a brilliant movie to watch. I recommend to all the viewers out there to watch this it. As for me, I am going to watch Game Change next. Julianne Moore is Sarah Palin!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Movie Review: The Imitation Game “A Work of Genius” at Coffee & Crackers.

meta

