Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars “One Sick Love Story”

July 19, 2014 § Leave a comment

Title: The Fault in Our Stars | Director: Josh Boone
Writer:Scott Neustadner, Michael H. Weber, John Green
Starring: Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort
Rating: 5 Cups of Coffee

“Okay? Okay…”

Hazel and Gus are two teenagers who share an acerbic wit, a disdain for the conventional, and a love that sweeps them on a journey. Their relationship is all the more miraculous given that Hazel’s other constant companion is an oxygen tank, Gus jokes about his prosthetic leg, and they met and fell in love at a cancer support group. –IMDb

My Review

Yes I read the book, I know where the story is heading but it’s not spoiling anything one little bit for me because The Fault in Our Stars the movie is freaking amazing. In fact, the movie turns out to be much, much better than the book version. It is sickly enchanting, refreshing, funny, emotional and I can say that it is a perfect movie for me. If a movie can make me shed my manly tears, it means that the movie is awesome dude!

I am not an expert in the technical aspects of the movie like cinematography and all, but the shots and settings of this film are so beautiful and mesmerizing. Amsterdam, hah! A perfect place for such a beautiful love story. I really loved this movie because it is not a typical foolish teeny love story but in the other hand it is full with wisdom, life lessons, and friendship. The best aspect of this movie, for me, is definitely the acting. I was so skeptical at first about the main casts Woodley and Elgort but they proved that my skepticism was so baseless. They nailed it! Every moments of their acting felt so real and these two young actors really have the natural chemistry between them. Their acting were effortless, and their emotions were genuine. They reminds me of Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper in Silver Lining Playbook. In other words, the acting (especially Woodley) is Academy Awards level of acting! With that, I rest my case.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars “One Sick Love Story” at Coffee & Crackers.

meta

