Book Review: The Visitor by Lee Child

July 11, 2014 § 1 Comment

Title: Lee Child | Author: The Visitor
Series: Jack Reacher Series
Genre: Action, Mystery, Thriller, Murder
Format: Paperback
Date Finished: July 7, 2014
CoffeeNCrackers Rating: 4 Cups of Coffee
Sergeant Amy Callan and Lieutenant Caroline Cooke have a lot in common.
Both were army high-flyers. Both were aquainted with Jack Reacher. Both were forced to resign from the service.
Now they’re both dead.
Found in their own homes, naked, in a bath full of paint.
Apparent victims of an army man. A loner, a smart guy with a score to settle, a ruthless vigilante.
A man just like Jack Reacher. –BackCover
My Review

First off, I didn’t read the Jack Reacher Series in any particular order and 61 Hours is my first introduction to this anti-hero character, Jack Reacher. Having read and enjoyed every book that I picked from the series plus with the back cover synopsis stated that there will be someone at the same level as Reacher  featured as a villain in The Visitor, I eagerly anticipating the story would offer me another roller coaster ride. Yes, it was.

There are two main reason why I really liked this book.  The first reason is the story itself. The pursuit of a serial killer with hideous motive intermingled with all those FBI bureaucracy, though it was complicated but still it kept on pushing me to the edge of my seat.  Child did an excellent job with the storytelling when he injected a few paragraphs of the murderer’s thoughts within each of the chapters. It gives me chills at times and you can’t help but try to guess who was this villain. The second reason to justify my love for the Visitor is because it gave me the opportunity to know Reacher’s earlier life. I know Reacher as a wanderer, a homeless guy who went here and there as he pleased. He didn’t follow any rules and had no commitment whatsoever. No family, No girlfriend. No nothing. However, in this book the writer introduced Reacher’s lawyer girlfriend, Jodie, a woman with so much to achieve in her career. I think it was so refreshing to know that Reacher was in a relationship but I have a feeling that their relationship wont last long.

When it comes to Jack Reacher, I am anticipating the brilliant fighting skills that this ex-military investigator have. However, as all the series’ fans already know, for a Reacher’s book it would be either brain or brawn and this one falls under the brain category. Not much of the fist to fist fighting but the works of finding the clues and crossing all the t’s and dotted all the i’s is a thrilling read nonetheless. Some might say that the ending was disappointing but I think it was brilliantly [ or maybe recklessly] wrapped up just in Reacher’s style. All in all, I liked The Visitor.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Book Review: The Visitor by Lee Child

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: The Visitor by Lee Child at Coffee & Crackers.

meta

