Book Review: The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

November 26, 2013 § Leave a comment

Title: The Thief | Author: Megan Whalen Turner
Series: The Queen’s Thief #1 | Genre: Fantasy Adventure
Format: Kindle eBook | Date Finished: Nov 23, 2013
Rating: 2 Cups of Coffee

THE KING’S SCHOLAR, the magus, believes he knows the site of an ancient treasure. To attain it for his king, he needs a skillful thief, and he selects Gen from the king’s prison. The magus is interested only in the thief’s abilities. What Gen is interested in is anyone’s guess. Their journey toward the treasure is both dangerous and difficult, lightened only imperceptibly by the tales they tell of the old gods and goddesses. –Goodreads

My Review

I read The Thief because it was recommended by a friend. She adores the series very much and I believed she rated this book 5/5. But, here I’m writing an honest review and I don’t really like the story. It doesn’t work for me. Gen s a thief and he was caught and imprisoned in the king’s prison. One day The Magus came to him with a favor: he wanted Gen’s thieving skills to help him steal the ancient treasure, the Hamiathes’s Gift. So begun the journey of Gen the Thief, The Magus, Sophos and Amiades the Apprentices, and Pol the Guard across three adjacent kingdoms, Sounis, Eddis, and Attolia.

I could smell the adventure and I was so excited at the beginning. But, the journey turned out to be less adventurous than what I expected it to be. I expect that along the journey they will meet lots of dangerous things, creatures, people, anything or meet interesting characters but the writer created another story instead to fill in the course of journey which is the Myth of Gods which didn’t amuse me that much because it’s kind of confusing and distracting. Though the writer didn’t waste any words in her writing which is very good and clean, but the characters development turned out to be weak. Sophos and Amiades: these two character seem like they doesn’t serve any purpose throughout the story except for the petty arguments between them. Luckily Amiades die and I believe Sophos will get his big role in the next book hopefully. The main root for everything is none of the characters is likable, even Gen didn’t get much of my attention.  All in all, this is a doesn’t-work-out-for-me book. I really hope that the second book will be much better than this.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner at Coffee & Crackers.

meta

